UPDATE: PERS Membership Status of Oregon’s 2011 – 2013 Legislators



  The following 21 Senators are legislative PERS members:

Alan Bates(D), Ginny Burdick(D), Peter Courtney(D), Richard Devlin(D), Jackie Dingfelder(D), Chris Edwards(D), Mark Hass(D), Betsy Johnson(D), Laurie Monnes Anderson(D), Rod Monroe(D), Floyd Prozanski(D), Diane Rosenbaum(D), Chip Shields(D) and Joanne Verger(D), Jason Atkinson(R), Ted Ferrioli(R), Larry George(R), Jeff Kruse(R), Bruce Starr(R), Doug Whitsett(R)  and Jackie Winters(R).

The following 6 Senators are not legislative PERS members:

Suzanne Bonamici(D), Brian Boquist(R), Fred Girod(R), Frank Morse(R), David Nelson(R), Chris Telfer(R).

               The legislative PERS membership of the following 3 Senators is unknown:

               Lee Beyer(D), Alan Olsen(R) and Chuck Thomsen(R).


The following 29 Representatives are legislative PERS members:

Jules Bailey(D), Jeff Barker(D), Phil Barnhart(D), E. Terry Beyer(D), Peter Buckley(D), Ben Cannon(D), Jean Cowan(D), Michael Dembrow(D), Chris Garrett(D), Dave Hunt(D), Betty Komp(D), Tina Kotek(D), Greg Matthews(D), Nancy Nathanson(D), Mary Nolan(D), Tobias Read(D), Mike Schaufler(D), Carolyn Tomei(D), Brad Witt(D), Cliff Bentz(R), Tim Freeman(R), Bill Garrard(R), Vic Gilliam(R), Bill Kennemer(R), Wayne Krieger(R), Greg Smith(R), Jim Thompson(R), Jim Weidner(R) and Matt Wingard(R).

The following 26 Representatives are not legislative PERS members:

Deborah Boone(D)*, Brian Clem(D)*, Margaret Doherty(D), Lew Frederick(D), Sara Gelser(D)*, Mitch Greenlick(D), Chris Harker(D), Paul Holvey(D), Val Hoyle(D)*, Arnie Roblan(D)*, Jefferson Smith(D), Vickie Berger(R), Kevin Cameron(R), Jason Conger(R), Sal Esquivel(R), Bruce Hanna(R), John Huffman(R), Bob Jenson(R), Shawn Lindsay(R), Mike McLane(R), Andy Olson(R), Julie Parrish(R)*, Dennis Richardson(R)*, Sherrie Sprenger(R), Kim Thatcher(R) and Gene Whisnant(R).

               The PERS membership of the following 5 Representatives is unknown:

               Wally Hicks(R), Katie Brewer(R), Patrick Sheehan(R), Mark Johnson(R) and Matthew Wand(R)

The above information gives the known PERS membership status of the 2011 – 2013 Oregon legislators.  The status of all of the new legislators is not currently know and will be updated later.  In the November, 2010 election, 12 new legislators were elected.  Of the 12 who did not run or who were defeated,  9 were PERS members.  The number of legislators who are not PERS members has increased but PER legislators  still firmly control the Oregon legislature.    

*PERS member due to public employment prior to becoming legislator, but not a legislative PERS member

© In RE The People, Inc., an Oregon Nonprofit Corporation  

If you would like to support the efforts of In RE The People, Inc. to inform the people of Oregon about matters of civic importance, please send a non-tax deductible contribution to:  In RE The People, Inc., 70 SW Century DriveSte 100 – 365, Bend, OR 97702.









About Dan Re

I am an attorney who has lived in Bend and practiced law since 1981. In educating myself about the Oregon Public Employees Retirement System (PERS), I was shocked at how the PERS laws were changed by the legislature, once legislators were allowed to join PERS in 1971, 26 years after PERS was first created. Those changes personally benefitted the legislators who made them at the direct financial expense of the people they were elected to represent. That is wrong and I intend to change it. In 2009, I started a non-profit 501(c)(4) corporation, In RE The People, Inc., for the purpose of informing concerned citizens of what happened regarding PERS and other issues of social and civic importance. I then created this blog to further that objective.
This entry was posted in Oregon PERS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s